NC-SARA Steering Committees


Jennifer Armour

Associate Director for Academic Affairs, Kansas Board of Regents

Gretchen Bartelson

Dean, Center for Teaching & Learning, Northwest Iowa Community College

Stephanie Davidson

Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs, Ohio Board of Regents

Kathleen Fimple

Academic Programs Officer, Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education

Chris Foley (Vice Chair)

Senior Associate, Proprietary School Certification, Indiana University

Morna Foy

President, Wisconsin Technical College System

Shellie Haut

Executive Director, Licensure, Regulatory Services & Human Capital, Central Michigan University

Robin Hemenway

Director of Accreditation and Compliance, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Mary Kochlefl

Administrative Director for the Center for Teaching Excellence, Xavier University

Susan Landers

Manager, Learning Technologies, College of DuPage

Nkechi Onwuameze

Associate Director for Academic Affairs, Illinois Board of Higher Education

Jerry Rostad

Assistant CIO for Academic Services and Special Projects, North Dakota University System

Ken Sauer

Senior Associate Commissioner and Chief Academic Officer, Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Betsy Talbot (Chair)

Manager, Institutional Licensing & Registration, Minnesota Department of Higher Education

Laura Vedenhaupt

Senior Associate, Proprietary School Certification, Missouri Department of Higher Education

NEBHE (N-SARA) Members

Carol Anderson

Vice President, New England Commission of Higher Education, New England Association of Schools & Colleges

Yvette Clark

Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Southern New Hampshire University

William Clements

Vice President and Dean of the College of Graduate Studies, Norwich University

Sara Cowall

Director of State Authorization and Grants, Granite State College

Glenn Cummings

President, University of Southern Maine

Jane McBride Gates

Provost & SVP for Academic and Student Affairs, Connecticut State College and University System

Ed Klonoski (Chair)

President, Charter Oak State College

Angel Loredo (Vice-Chair)

Higher Education Specialist, Maine Department of Education

Constantia "Dena" Papanikolaou

Chief Legal Counsel, Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

Cynthia Parker

Vice President, College of Online Education, Johnson & Wales University

Roberta S. Pearlmutter

Interim Provost and VP of Academic Affairs, Rhode Island College

Eric Sakai

Dean of Academic Technology, Community College of Vermont

Eric Taylor

Director, Office of Licensure, New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education

Leslie E. Templeman

Director, Office of College and University Evaluation, New York State Education Department

Michael Thomas (Ex-officio)

President & CEO, New England Board of Higher Education

SREB (S-SARA) Members

Jessica Acton

Assistant Commissioner, Academic Quality and Workforce, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

David Baez

Economic Program Analyst, Office of Registration and Licensing of Education Institutions, PR Board of Postsecondary Institutions

Bryson Barksdale

Online Education Analyst, Maryland Higher Education Commission

Alana Boles

Program Director of Private Career and Out-of-State Education, Arkansas Department of Higher Education

Nikki Bryant

Compliance Officer for Authorization and Proprietary School Programs, WV Council for Community & Technical College Education

Nick A. Buono, M.Ed.

College Success Program Administrator, Delaware Higher Education Office

Darlene Derricott

Director of Academic Services, State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

LeAnn Detillier

Assistant Commissioner for Program Administration, Louisiana Board of Regents

Menia Dykes

Director of Accreditation, Office of Academic and Student Affairs, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Kyle Foster

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Sharlene Harris

Vice President for Information Services & Institutional Assessment, University of the Virgin Islands

Robert Keown (11/2017-10/2020)

Executive Director, Georgia Virtual Technical Connection, Technical College System of Georgia

Angela Lee (Chair 11/2018 - 10/2020)

Executive Director, Higher Education Licensure Commission, Postsecondary Education, Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE)

Ron Leonard

Director of Special Initiatives, Alabama Commission on Higher Education

Sarah Levy

Director of Postsecondary Licensing, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education

Elise Scanlon (08/2019 - 10/2020)

General Counsel, Distance Education Accrediting Commission

Terrence R. Scarborough (Vice Chair 11/2018 - 10/2020)

Director of SARA-NC, UNC-General Administration, North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority

Kirk Shook

Executive Director, Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC)

Peggy Simons

Licensing Program Coordinator, Postsecondary Institution Licensing, SC Commission on Higher Education Academic Affairs,

Teri Spence (11/2018 – 10/2020)

Director, Office of Compliance & Contracts, Penn State Outreach and Online Education

Sharon Spencer (11/2018 – 10/2020)

Assistant Vice Provost for Compliance and Reporting, University of Maryland University College

Lynette Trovitch

Acting Division Chief, Department of Education, Division of Higher and Career Education

Kris Williams, Ph.D. (11/2018 – 10/2020)

Chancellor, Kentucky Community and Technical College System

Julie Woodruff

Assistant Executive Director of Postsecondary School Authorization and Lead Attorney, TN Higher Education Commission

WICHE (W-SARA) Members

Alicia Armijo

Constituent Services Coordinator & New Mexico SARA Coordinator. Legal Division, New Mexico Higher Education Department

Tamara Baysinger

State Authorization Manager, Idaho State Board of Education

Terina Caserto

Senior Analyst, Academic and Student Affairs, Nevada System of Higher Education

Heather DeLange

Director - Office of Private Postsecondary Education, Colorado Department of Higher Education

Rob Dennis

Chief Operating Officer, Wyoming Community College Commission

Lanna Dueck (Chair)

Executive Director, Arizona SARA Council

Veronica Dujon, Ph.D.

Director, Office of Private Postsecondary Education, Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission

Cynthia "Cyd" Grua

Director, Instructional Technology, Utah System of Higher Education

Katie Hubbart

Academic Affairs Specialist, South Dakota SARA Coordinator, South Dakota Board of Regents

Sam Loftin, J.D. (Vice Chair)

Director of Consumer Protection, Washington Student Achievement Council

Bobbi Lum-Mew

Program Administrator, Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program (HPEAP), Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs

Patricia Nickell-Zimmerman

Institutional Authorization Coordinator, Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education

Hae Okimoto

Associate Vice President for Student Affairs & Director of Academic Technologies, University of Hawaii System

Joseph "Joe" Thiel

Director of Academic Policy and Research, Montana University System