

# **NC-SARA** Executive Committee

MHEC • NEBHE • SREB • WICHE

# **Purpose Statement**

The Executive Committee shall provide support and guidance to the President on a regular basis, receive audits from the Finance Committee, review audits, and recommend audit findings to the Board for its approval, and provide support to the Board as needed.

# **Executive Committee Membership**

The Executive Committee shall consist of the Board Officers, the Chairs of the standing committees of the Board, and one president of a participating Regional Compact. The four Regional Compact presidents shall choose which of their members shall serve on the Executive Committee, and that designated member shall serve on the Committee for a renewable two-year term. The Chair and Vice-Chair of the NC-SARA Board shall be Chair and Vice-Chair, respectively, of the Executive Committee. The President and the Secretary shall also attend Executive Committee meetings as administrative support.

#### **Member List**

- Rob Anderson (Chair), President, State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO)
- Eduardo Ochoa (Vice Chair), President Emeritus, California State University Monterey Bay
- **John Cavanaugh (Treasurer)**, Former President and CEO, Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area
- Lanna Dueck, Executive Director of the Arizona SARA Council
- Barbara Gellman-Danley, President, Higher Learning Commission
- Stephen Pruitt, President, Southern Regional Education Board (SREB)
- Elise Scanlon, Elise Scanlon Law Group

- Marianne Boeke, President
- Schuyler Perry, Board Secretary & Senior Executive Assistant
- Jeannie Pauline Yockey-Fine, Senior Vice President and General Counsel



# **NC-SARA Finance Committee**

MHEC • NEBHE • SREB • WICHE

# **Purpose Statement**

The Finance Committee shall review the annual budget for NC-SARA, developed by the President of NC-SARA, prior to its consideration by the Board. The Finance Committee shall identify an auditing firm for annual audits, in collaboration with the NC-SARA Finance Director and President, receive the audits, and report findings to the Executive Committee and Board. The Finance Committee, in collaboration with the NC-SARA Finance Director and President, will identify a new auditing firm every five years.

# **Finance Committee Membership**

The Finance Committee shall comprise up to six Board members, including the Treasurer, who shall chair the Committee. The Chair of the NC-SARA Board shall serve as an ex-officio member. The members shall include one of the four Regional Compact presidents, chosen by the Regional Compact presidents. Members of the Finance Committee shall be elected by the NC-SARA Board and shall serve two-year terms. Finance Committee members shall have an option to serve an additional two year term, with the approval of the NC-SARA Board.

#### **Member List**

- **John Cavanaugh (Chair)**, Former President and CEO, Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area
- Laurie Dodge, Vice President of Quality Assurance and Accreditation for Competency-Based Education Network (C-BEN)
- Susan Heegaard, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC)
- Sam Loftin, Director of Consumer Protection, Washington Student Achievement Council
- Ed Ray, President Emeritus & Professor of Economics, Oregon State University

- Marianne Boeke, President
- Schuyler Perry, Board Secretary & Senior Executive Assistant
- Ashley Rasmussen, Director of Finance
- Jeannie Pauline Yockey-Fine, Senior Vice President and General Counsel



# **NC-SARA Governance & Nominations Committee**

MHEC • NEBHE • SREB • WICHE

## **Purpose Statement**

The Governance & Nominations Committee ("Committee") will assist the Board of Directors of NC-SARA to fulfill its responsibilities regarding matters that relate to governing the organization and in identifying and making recommendations to the board candidates to be Board Directors.

#### **Governance and Nominations Committee Membership**

The committee shall be composed of at least three and not more than five Board Directors.

#### **Member List**

- **Jason Rojas (Co-Chair),** Majority Leader, Connecticut House of Representatives
- Elise Scanlon (Co-Chair), Elise Scanlon Law Group
- **John Cavanaugh**, Former President and CEO, Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area
- Ed Ray, President Emeritus & Professor of Economics, Oregon State University
- Michael Thomas, President and CEO, New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE)

- Marianne Boeke, President
- Schuyler Perry, Board Secretary & Senior Executive Assistant
- Jeannie Pauline Yockey-Fine, Senior Vice President and General Counsel



# **NC-SARA Policy Committee**

MHEC • NEBHE • SREB • WICHE

## **Purpose Statement**

The Policy Committee will support the NC-SARA Board of Directors by serving as the policy specialists who are committed to understanding SARA policy proposals and advising the full board consistent with the policy process outlined in the SARA Policy Manual. The Policy Committee will also serve as a resource for helping the Board set a strategy with respect to federal policy as it pertains to reciprocity.

# **Policy Committee Membership**

The Policy Committee shall be composed of at least five and no more than seven Board Directors. One regional compact president shall serve as an ex-officio member of the Committee.

#### **Member List**

- Lanna Dueck (Chair), Executive Director of the Arizona SARA Council
- **Demi Michelau (Vice Chair),** President, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)
- Sam Loftin, Director of Consumer Protection, Washington Student Achievement Council
- Cam Maeyaert, Director of Private Postsecondary Institutions, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
- Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Chancellor, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission

- Marianne Boeke, President
- Schuyler Perry, Board Secretary & Senior Executive Assistant
- Jeannie Pauline Yockey-Fine, Senior Vice President and General Counsel



# **NC-SARA Strategy Committee**

MHEC • NEBHE • SREB • WICHE

## **Purpose Statement**

The Strategy Committee shall assist the board of directors in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities related to the NC-SARA strategy consistent with the board's long-term goals. The Strategy Committee shall review the development of strategy and Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) of any planning documents and make recommendations to the board.

# **Strategy Committee Membership**

The committee shall have a minimum of five members and a maximum of seven members.

#### **Member List**

- Barbara Gellman-Danley (Chair), President, Higher Learning Commission
- **Susan Heegaard (Vice Chair)**, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC)
- Laurie Dodge, Vice President of Quality Assurance and Accreditation for Competency-Based Education Network (C-BEN)
- Lanna Dueck, Executive Director of the Arizona SARA Council
- Carlos Morales, President, Tarrant County Colleges Connect Campus
- Stephen Pruitt, President, Southern Regional Education Board (SREB)

- Marianne Boeke, President
- Schuyler Perry, Board Secretary & Senior Executive Assistant
- Terri Taylor-Straut, Senior Director, Educational Programs