Press Releases

Welcome KY and PA to SARA

Updated by on Wed, 02/26/2020 - 08:46

Submitted by jshanika on Mon, 11/14/2016 - 08:52

NC-SARA is proud to announce the addition of two more states; Kentucky and Pennsylvania.    On November 1, 2016, the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) voted to welcome these two states into SARA bringing the national total to 44 states plus the District of Columbia. These newest additions attest to the success of the SARA initiative to provide Higher Education a better way for states to oversee the delivery of postsecondary distance education.  

Louisiana, Virginia and West Virginia were renewed as SARA participants. Alana Boles, Arkansas Department of Higher Education was elected Chair of the SREB SARA Steering Committee.

The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) is a voluntary agreement among its member states and U.S. territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance-education. SARA makes it easier for students to take online courses offered by postsecondary institutions based in another state and improves consumer protection. 

Kentucky is a member of SREB while Pennsylvania is aligning with SREB for the purposes of SARA.

Welcome Kentucky and Pennsylvania!