State Portal Entity Contacts

NC-SARA State Portal Entity Contacts.

Alabama

Ron Leonard
Director of Special Initiatives
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
100 North Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
334.242.2211
ron.leonard@ache.edu
State Website: http://ache.edu/AlaPortal.aspx

Dr. Robin E. McGill
Director of Instruction and Special Projects
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
100 North Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
334.242.2104
robin.mcgill@ache.edu

Alaska

Kierke Kussart
Program Coordinator Institutional Authorization
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, AK 99811-0505
907.465.6741
kierke.kussart@alaska.gov

Arizona

Lanna Dueck
Executive Director
Arizona SARA Council
2323 W. 14th St.
Tempe, AZ 85281
480.517.8226 
ldueck.azsara@riosalado.edu
State website: http://azsara.arizona.edu/

Arkansas

Alana Boles
Program Director for Private Career and Out-of-State Education
Arkansas Department of Higher Education
423 Main St., Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72201
501.371.2060
alana.boles@adhe.edu
State Website http://www.adhe.edu/institutions/academic-affairs/sara/

Colorado

Heather Delange
Academic Policy Officer
Department of Higher Education
1600 Broadway, Suite 2200
Denver, CO 80202
303.862.3005
heather.delange@dhe.state.co.us

Connecticut

Sean Seepersad, PhD
Division Director of Academic Affairs
Office of Higher Education
State of Connecticut
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 707
Hartford, CT 06103-1841
860.947.1837
Sean.Seepersad@ct.gov
State Website: http://www.ctohe.org/SARA/Default.shtml

Emily Bjornberg
Senior Consultant
Office of Higher Education
State of Connecticut
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 707
Hartford, CT 06106
860.947.1824
Emily.Bjornberg@ct.gov

Delaware

Nick A. Buono
Education Specialist
Delaware Office of Higher Ed
Delaware Department of Education
The Townsend Building
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901
302.735.4193 
nicholas.buono@doe.k12.de.us
State Website http://www.doe.k12.de.us/sara

District of Columbia

Angela H. Lee
Executive Director
Higher Education Licensure Commission
Postsecondary Education
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
1050 First St. NE, 5th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20002
202.724.2095
angela.lee@dc.gov
State Website http://osse.dc.gov/service/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara

Florida

Karl Washington
Director
Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Room 1414
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
850.245.3242
karl.washington@fldoe.org

Sonia Browning
Administrative Assistant II
Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Room 1414
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
850.245.3210
sonia.browning@fldoe.org
State Website http://www.flsara.org/

Georgia

Adam Hawk
GA-SARA Coordinator
Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC)
2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220
Tucker, GA 30084
770.414.3310
adamh@gnpec.ga.gov

Patricia “Pat” Neri
Program Manager
Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC)
2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220
Tucker, GA 30084
770.414.3235
GASARA@gnpec.ga.gov
State Website: https://gnpec.georgia.gov/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara

Hawaii

Bobbi Lum-Mew
Program Administrator
Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program (HPEAP)
Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
P.O. Box 541
Honolulu, HI 96809
808.586.7327
hpeap@dcca.hawaii.gov
State Website http://cca.hawaii.gov/hpeap/sara/

Idaho

Valerie Fenske
Idaho Private Colleges & Proprietary Schools Coordinator
Idaho State Board of Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0037
208.332.1587
valerie.fenske@osbe.idaho.gov

Illinois

Nkechi Onwuameze, PhD
Assistant Director for Academic Affairs
Illinois SARA Coordinator
Illinois Board of Higher Education
1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza, Suite 333
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377
217.557.7382
sara@ibhe.org

Indiana

Ross Miller
Director of State Authorization and Reciprocity
Indiana Commission for Higher Education/
Indiana Board for Proprietary Education
101 W. Ohio Street, Suite 300
Indianapolis, IN 46204-4206
317.232.1033
rmiller@che.in.gov
Website: www.in.gov/bpe

Iowa

Lisa Pundt
Compliance Officer        
Iowa College Student Aid Commission
475 SW Fifth Street, Suite D
Des Moines, IA 50309-4608
515.725.3426 | fax: 515.725.3401
lisa.pundt@iowa.gov

Kansas

Jennifer Armour
Associate Director
Academic Affairs
Kansas Board of Regents
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 520
Topeka, KS 66612-1368
785.430.4288
jarmour@ksbor.org 

Kentucky

Sarah Levy
Director of Postsecondary Licensing
Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
Frankfort, KY 40601
502.573.1555
sarah.levy@ky.gov
State Website http://cpe.ky.gov/campuses/sararequest.html

Louisiana

LeAnn Detillier
Assistant Commissioner for Program Administration
Louisiana Board of Regents
1201 N. Third Street, Suite 6-200
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225.342.4253
leann.detillier@laregents.edu
State Website http://www.regents.la.gov/subhome/institutional-licensure

Maine

Angel Loredo
Higher Education Specialist
Department of Higher Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0023
207.624.6846
angel.loredo@maine.gov

Maryland

Bryson Barksdale
Online Education Analyst
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street, 10th Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
410.767.3388
bryson.barksdale@maryland.gov

Karen King-Sheridan
Associate Director, Collegiate Affairs
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street, 10th Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
410.767.3404
karen.king-sheridan@maryland.gov
State Website: http://mhec.maryland.gov/institutions_training/Pages/acadaff/sara.aspx

Massachusetts

Alex Nally
SARA Coordinator
Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
One Ashburton Place, Room 1401
Boston, MA 02108
617.994.6910
SARAInquiries@dhe.mass.edu
State website: www.mass.edu/sara

Michigan

James R. Farhat, Departmental Specialist
Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity
Workforce Development, Postsecondary Schools
201 N. Washington Square, 3rd Floor
Lansing, MI 48913
517.256.8670
farhatj@michigan.gov
State website: www.michigan.gov/pss

Minnesota

Betsy Talbot
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
Saint Paul, MN 55108
651.259.3965
Betsy.Talbot@state.mn.us

Kate McCartan
Institutional Monitoring Specialist
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
Saint Paul, MN 55108
651.259.3912
kate.mccartan@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Menia Dykes
Director of Accreditation
Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, MS 39211
601.432.6372
mdykes@mississippi.edu
State Website http://www.mississippi.edu/mcca/sara.asp

Missouri

Leroy Wade
Assistant Commissioner
Missouri Department of Higher Education
205 Jefferson Street
P.O. Box 1469
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469
573.751.2361
leroy.wade@dhe.mo.gov

Montana

Joe Thiel
Director of Academic Policy and Research
Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
Montana University System
P.O. Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201
406.422.8455
jthiel@montana.edu

Nebraska

Kathleen L. Fimple, Ph.D.
Academic Programs Officer
Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 95005
Lincoln, NE 68509-5005
402.471.0030
Kathleen.Fimple@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Renée Davis
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director of Student Affairs
Nevada System of Higher Education
2601 Enterprise Road
Reno, NV 89512
775.784.3447
rdavis@nshe.nevada.edu
State Website https://nshe.nevada.edu/administration/academics-student-affairs/sara/

New Hampshire

Frank Edelblut
Commissioner of Education
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-3494
(603) 271-3144
frank.edelblut@doe.nh.gov

Institution Inquires:
Patricia Edes
Program Specialist IV
New Hampshire Department of Education
603.271.0256
patricia.edes@doe.nh.gov

New Jersey

Eric Taylor, Esq.
Director, Office of Licensure
New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education
20 W. State St., Floor 4
P.O. Box 542
Trenton, NJ 08625
609.984.3738
eric.taylor@oshe.nj.gov

New Mexico

Alicia Armijo
New Mexico SARA Coordinator
New Mexico Higher Education Department
2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4
Santa Fe, NM  87505-2100
505.476.8411
Alicia.Armijo@state.nm.us

New York

Emily Sutherland
Supervisor of Higher Education Programs
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234
518.474.1551
IHEauthorize@nysed.gov

North Carolina

Terrence R. Scarborough, M.P.A.
Director of SARA North Carolina
North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority
P.O. Box 14103
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
919.248.4660
terrence@saranc.org
State Website www.saranc.org

North Dakota

Cheryl Thompson
Outreach Manager
Communication | Training | State Authorization Coordinator
Core Technology Services
North Dakota University System
2000 44th Street SW, Suite 301
Fargo, ND 58103
701.239.6676
cheryl.thompson@ndus.edu

Ohio

Matt Exline
Assistant Director of Program Approval Operations
Ohio Department of Higher Education
25 South Front Street
Columbus, OH  43215
614.728.3095
mexline@highered.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Kyle Foster
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200
P.O. Box 108850
Oklahoma City, OK 73101-8850
405.225.9163
kfoster@osrhe.edu

Elizabeth Walker
Staff Assistant III
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200
P.O. Box 108850
Oklahoma City, OK 73101-8850
405.225.9154
lwalker@osrhe.edu
State Website http://www.okhighered.org/admin-fac/sara/

Oregon

Sean Pollack
Program Administrator
Higher Education Coordinating Commission
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310
503.947.5925
sean.pollack@state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Gina Wetten
Higher Education Associate II
Department of Education
Division of Higher and Career Education
333 Market Street 
Harrisburg, PA 17126
717.265.7723
giwetten@pa.gov

Lynette Trovitch
Higher Education Administrator
Department of Education
Division of Higher and Career Education
333 Market Street 
Harrisburg, PA 17126
717.783.8228
ltrovitch@pa.gov
State Website https://www.education.pa.gov/Postsecondary-Adult/CollegeCareer/Pages/State-Authorization-Reciprocity-Agreement-(SARA).aspx

Puerto Rico

David Baez
Economic Program Analyst
Office of Registration and Licensing of Education Institutions
Board of Postsecondary Institutions
PR State Department
PO Box 9023271
San Juan, PR 00902-3271
787.641.7100 ext. 2056
dbaez@estado.pr.gov
mvaras@estado.pr.gov (please copy all emails)

Damaris Nolasco
Executive Director Assistant
PR State Department
PO Box 9023271
San Juan, PR  00902-3271
787.722.2121 ext. 3801
dnolasco@estado.pr.gov

Rhode Island

Deanna Velletri
Specialist, Proprietary Schools
RI Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner
560 Jefferson Blvd.
Warwick, Rhode Island 02886-1304
401.736.1118
Deanna.velletri@riopc.edu

South Carolina

Peggy Simons
Program Coordinator
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300
Columbia, SC 29201
803.737.3476
psimons@che.sc.gov
State Website: click here

Stacey Price
Program Coordinator
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300
Columbia, SC 29201
803.737.7781
sprice@che.sc.gov

South Dakota

Katie Hubbart
Academic Affairs Specialist
South Dakota SARA Coordinator
South Dakota Board of Regents
306 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 200
Pierre, SD 57501
605.773.3455
Katie.Hubbart@sdbor.edu

Tennessee

Julie Woodruff
Assistant Executive Director and Lead Attorney for DPSA
Tennessee Higher Education Commission
404 James Robertson Parkway, Suite 1900
Nashville, TN 37243
615.253.8857
julie.woodruff@tn.gov

Texas

Jessica Acton
Program Director, Academic Quality and Workforce
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
P.O. Box 12788
Austin, TX 78711
512.427.6214
jessica.acton@thecb.state.tx.us
State Website http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/

U.S. Virgin Islands

Camille McKayle
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 
University of the Virgin Islands 
#2 John Brewers Bay
St. Thomas, USVI  00802
340.693.1200
cmckayl@uvi.edu

Utah

Cynthia "Cyd" Grua
Office of the Commissioner for Higher Education
Utah System of Higher Education
Board of Regents Building, The Gateway
60 S 400 W
Salt Lake City, Utah  84111
801.321.7152
cgrua@ushe.edu
State Website  https://higheredutah.org/sara/

Vermont

Bill Bates
Chief Financial Officer
Vermont Agency of Education
1 National Life Drive, Davis 5th Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620
802.595.5402
bill.bates@vermont.gov

Virginia

Darlene Derricott
Director of Academic Services
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 9th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804.225.2621
DarleneDerricott@schev.edu
State Website http://www.schev.edu/index/institutional/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreements-%28sara%29

Washington

Sam Loftin
Director of Consumer Protection
Washington Student Achievement Council
P.O. Box 43430
Olympia, WA 98504-3430
360.753.7866
samL@wsac.wa.gov

West Virginia

Mark Stotler
Director of Academic Programming
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Blvd. East, Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301
304.558.0262
mark.stotler@wvhepc.edu 
State Website http://www.wvhepc.edu/inside-the-commission/special-initiatives/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara/

Wisconsin

Monique Currie
Policy Advisor
Policy and Government Relations
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
4622 University Ave., PO Box 7874
Madison, WI 53707-7874
608.266.2449
Monique.Currie@wtcsystem.edu
State Website: http://www.heab.state.wi.us/dlab/

Rebecca Larson
Senior Vice President for Advocacy
Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU)
122 West Washington Avenue, Suite 700
Madison, WI 53703-2723
608.204.2449
rebecca.larson@waicu.org

Wyoming

Larry Buchholtz
Fiscal Operations Team Manager
State of Wyoming
Wyoming Community College Commission
2300 Capitol Ave., 5th Floor, Suite B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
307.777.7068
larry.buchholtz@wyo.gov