Resource
Presentations

Final Federal Regulations & State Authorization: Ready, Set, Go!

Updated by nortiz@nc-sara.org on Tue, 07/07/2020 - 15:02

On November 1, 2019, the Department of Education published its final state authorization for distance education regulations in the Federal Register. These rules will go into effect on July 1, 2020. This webinar will give a detailed overview on key provisions contained within the regulations, including the implications to the institution for implementation of the regulations pertaining to state authorization, with particular emphasis on:

  • The new language impacting programs leading to professional licensure – regardless of mode of delivery; 
  • The requirement that institutions determine in which states students are located for the purpose of issuing state-specific disclosures; 
  • The general and direct disclosures for enrolled and prospective students;
  •  Review and discuss the required SARA notifications in relation to the federal regulations.

Please join us for a review and discussion of the 2019 Federal Regulations and SARA notifications. There will be ample time provided for questions and discussion.*

Moderator: Marianne Boeke, Director for Policy Research and State Support

Presenters: Paul Thompson, Special Counsel, Cooley LLP
                     Jeannie Yockey-Fine, J.D. Director for Regulatory Relations and Policy Support, NC-SARA

Date: 6/11/2020
Time: 2pm Eastern time; 1pm Central time; Noon Mountain time; 11am Pacific time; 10am Alaska; 8am Hawaii

*This webinar was not recorded.  The presentation slides and Q&A are now available for download.

Presentation Slides Link: click here

Webinar Q&A: click here