Regional Education Compacts

For more than half a century, most states have been collaborating with other nearby states through interstate higher education compacts. While many people within American higher education may not be familiar with these collaborative activities, four regional compacts – the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), the New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE), the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) and the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) – have helped states, and the public and private institutions within the states, work cooperatively to expand access and excellence within their regions. These regional compacts provide a range of programs and services, including student exchange programs that provide lower-cost access to programs present in one state but not another; collective purchasing initiatives for computer hardware and software, institutional property liability insurance, and student health plans; and policy analysis and research, including comparative economic and demographic analyses. The compacts have worked together where their partners -- states or the institutions within states -- deem collaboration to make sense. 


The Midwestern Higher Education Compact brings together Midwestern states to develop and support best practices, collaborative efforts, and cost-sharing opportunities. Through these efforts it works to ensure strong, equitable postsecondary educational opportunities and outcomes for all. Member states are: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin..
Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC)



The New England Board of Higher Education promotes greater educational opportunities and services for the residents of New England. It works across the six New England states to engage and assist leaders in the assessment, development, and implementation of sound education practices and policies of regional significance; promote policies, programs, and best practices to assist the states in implementing important regional higher education policies; promote regional cooperation and programs that encourage the efficient use and sharing of educational resources; and provide leadership to strengthen the relationship between higher education and the economic well-being of New England.
New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE)



The Southern Regional Education Board works with 16 member states to improve public education at every level, from pre-K through Ph.D. SREB is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization headquartered in Atlanta. Member states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.
Southern Regional Education Board (SREB)



The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education and its 16 members work collaboratively to expand educational access and excellence for all citizens of the West. By promoting innovation, cooperation, resource sharing, and sound public policy among states and institutions, WICHE strengthens higher education’s contributions to the region’s social, economic, and civic life. WICHE programs—Student Exchange, the WICHE Cooperative for Educational Technologies, Policy Analysis and Research, and Mental Health—work to find answers to critical questions facing higher education today. WICHE’s 16 members include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawai‘i, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and the U.S. Pacific territories and freely associated states (the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands is the first of the group to participate).
Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)

Regional SARA Directors & Coordinators

Sara Appel

Sara Appel (MHEC)

Director, Midwestern-State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (M-SARA)
View Profile
View Profile
Leah Reinert

Leah Reinert (MHEC)

Policy and Research Manager
View Profile
View Profile

Elisa Jaden (SREB)

Program Specialist, Regional SARA Director, Postsecondary Student Access and Success
View Profile
View Profile
Molly Hall-Martin

Molly Hall-Martin (WICHE)

Director, WICHE State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement, Policy Analysis and Research
View Profile
View Profile

Shelley Plutto (WICHE)

Project Manager - W-SARA
View Profile
View Profile